

Appeals Panel (School Transport)

MINUTES OF THE APPEALS PANEL (SCHOOL TRANSPORT) MEETING HELD ON 7 DECEMBER 2021 AT KENNET ROOM - COUNTY HALL, BYTHESEA ROAD, TROWBRIDGE, BA14 8JN.

Present:

Cllr Tony Jackson, Cllr Allison Bucknell and Cllr David Vigar

1 Election of Chairman

Cllr Tony Jackson was elected as Chairman for this appeal only.

CIIr Tony Jackson in the Chair

2 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

It was also acknowledged that though Cllr Allison Bucknell formed part of the Panel for the previous appeal in relation to this child, the appeal taking place on 7 December 2021 was a new decision.

3 Minutes

The minutes of the School Transport Appeal held on 20 October 2021 were presented for consideration and it was;

Resolved:

To approve the minutes of the School Transport Appeal held on 20 October 2021.

4 <u>Meeting Procedure</u>

The Chairman outlined the meeting procedure as detailed in the agenda.

5 **Exclusion of the press and public**

The panel considered whether or not to hold the meeting in closed session and it was:

Resolved:

To exclude members of the press and public for the business specified in Item no. 6 in accordance with section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972, (paragraph 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act).

6 **School transport appeal**

The panel heard representations and replies from the Transport Officer and the appellant and asked questions of the parties involved. Upon consideration of this information, it was,

Resolved:

That the Transport Officer's recommendation to provide payment of bus fare for the remainder of the child's attendance at their current primary school be accepted. The Panel considered that due to exceptional family circumstances a taxi be provided for the child to attend their current primary school for the remainder of the 2021/2022 school year.

As an additional informative, the Panel wishes that the School Transport Team investigate the possibility of the provision of a chaperone service to enable pupils to access existing bus services.

(Duration of meeting: 10:00am – 11:27am)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Ben Fielding of Democratic Services, direct line, e-mail Benjamin.fielding@wiltshire.gov.uk.

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line ((01225) 713114 or email communications@wiltshire.gov.uk